Meet the staff

Senior Leadership Team



Head Teacher & Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mr Michael Salisbury

I am delighted to lead the staff team at the Abbey school.  I am passionate about providing high-quality primary education for all children in our care, challenging and supporting them along the way.

I have been the Head teacher and Deputy Head in other local schools and know the beautiful North Dorset area very well. Please say hello if you see me around the school!

As the DSL for the school, please contact me if yo have any safeguarding concerns.

Mrs Sally Howard

Assistant Head & Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Special Educational Needs and Inclusion Co-ordinator



Mrs Howard began teaching at Abbey in 1997. Her role is an important one, helping us to ensure all pupils make progress and fulfil their potential, especially those whose needs or circumstances require adaptations or additional support. Her remit extends to individuals and groups, including disabled pupils, those who are academically more or less able, minority ethnic pupils, and many others.

Teaching Assistant and/or SEN provision
Miss Charlie Dymock
Mrs Maxine Sanderson
  Miss Charlie Dymock, Mrs Jane Pritchard,  Mrs Karen Cole
Year 1
Mrs Charlie Marshall
Mrs Rachel Gosling
 Mrs Julie Isaacs,  Mrs Jeanette White.
Year 2
Mrs Holli Bastable
( Mrs Julie Turner)
 Mrs Paula Mowbray (Mrs Kate Brockway,Mrs Leigh Dickson, Mrs Jeanette White, Mrs Karen Cole).
Year 3
Miss Vicki Wonnacott
Mrs Rachel Gosling
Mrs Leigh-Ann Dickson,Mrs Kate Brockway Mrs Ruth Steele, .
Year 4
Mrs Lorraine Stone
(Mrs Julie Turner)
Mrs Jo Blakey, Mrs Rachel Ralph.
Year 5
Mrs Jane Wood
Mrs Lucy Chalke
Mrs Jeanette White (Mrs Jo Blakey, Mrs Julie Isaacs, Mrs Kate Brockway, Mrs Elaine Mitchell)


Year 6
Ms Amanda Saunders
Mrs Kim Brown, Mrs Rachel Ralph, Mrs Elaine Mitchell

ELSA Support

Mrs Carol Burfitt

Admin and Support Staff

Mrs Gully Fahie, School Secretary

Mrs Sarah Stevens, Finance Officer

Mrs Saskia King, Receptionist

Mrs Rachel Gale, Clerk to the Governors

Lunch Time Supervisors

Mrs Rachel Kemp, Mrs Paula Mowbray, Mrs Jade Salkeld, Mrs Beth Harris

Mrs Jeanette White, Mrs Saskia King, Erin Elford (Supply TA),Mrs Karen Cole, Mrs Kate Brockway and Mrs Leigh-Ann Dickson.

Supply MDS Mrs Trudy Green

Cleaning Staff

Mrs Debbie Smith

Mrs Christine Judd

In addition to our dedicated staff, we are fortunate to be supported by a team of volunteer parents, grandparents, friends from St James’ Church and many others.

Please do get in touch if you would like to help in school in any way.